Antidepressants and Pregnancy… Do they go?

Today I have been looking into Antidepressants and pregnancy before and during pregnancy.

Last Friday (17th August) I visited my GP, as was feeling down and very tired, as not sleeping, due to a variety of things which are going on in my life at the moment. He prescribed me some Sertaline 50mg to take and see how I get on.

So I was sitting here today thinking about how well antidepressants and getting pregnant/being pregnant go together, as 43.4 million antidepressants prescriptions were made last year. With approximately  25% of people experiencing some kind of mental health problem every year.

So today I got looking online and seeing what people say about the tablets I’m on (Sertaline) and other antidepressants.

From what I have found, there has been no evidence to prove that it causes problems with conception, although there is some possible research showing a slight increase in risk of heart defects if on Antidepressants like Sertaline, in the early stages of pregnancy, although they did concede it was more common if the mother was on more than one type of antidepressants. With regards to conception, I can find little to no evidence, of it causing any problems with conception. If anything, people have reported it being easier to conceive, as they say its easier to conceive, when you are in a happy and more positive mind set, which the anti-depressants allow.

As I am only intending to be on these short term, hopefully there should be no problems, but even so the problems seem to be very few and very rare, so cause for concern is not great.

Leave a Reply

