Should I give blood???

After seeing an advert for blood donors in my local area, I thought it would be a great idea to get back into given blood (I was a regular blood donor until last year) I called up and I’ve got an appointment, so I wont have to wait around until they have a space free.

My blood group is O- which they have less donors of. I want to give blood, to help people like me who could need this blood type, as you never know when you or a love one will need it. They also use some blood for research which also would end up helping people in the long run.

This question all started when I was talking to a friend on Facebook asking her to remind me that I’ve made this appointment for tomorrow (05/12/2012). I then started thinking would it be a good or bad idea for me to give blood while trying for a baby. I am currently due to ovulate (if the My Days app is correct).  I was never asked before when I gave blood, if I was trying to conceive I was only asked if I was I was pregnant.

I have done some research into this to find some helpful info.

While guidelines state that you shouldn’t donate blood when you are pregnant. There are no guidelines suggesting that blood cannot be given while you are trying to conceive.

Some people say NOT to giving blood while trying for a baby this is because:

  • It can lower your iron, take away nutrients that your body needs while trying to conceive. If you should happen to conceive after donating blood, it could take away from the process of the embryo developing.
  • There are also days in your cycle where you wont know if you are pregnant or not.
  • Blood volume is replaced within 24 hours. Red cells need about 4 to 8 weeks for complete replacement. (So it can take just under two months to get back to “Normal”)

While there are no guide lines on the official website about this. The only information I have found is on forums and other websites. So I’m left very confused, as to what I should do about my appointment, should I go or not???

While you may think there are a lot of down sides to why I shouldn’t give blood, these are mainly things which could happen, there are still so many reasons which make me think I should still go and give blood.

  • One being I might not be pregnant (Doesn’t it always come down to this? Even with things like having a glass of alcohol with friends)
  • People need my blood and my blood type is not as common as others.
  • I like to give blood as my family can’t due to health conditions.
  • It’s one of the best “free” gifts you can give.

Life would be so much easier if the doctors could do a blood test to see if I was back to “normal” to see if the Depo-Provera was out of my system. This way I would be able to tell if the chances of me becoming pregnant this month or next where more likely than a few months ago, when the injection still was in my system. Something we will never understand, its a 3 month contraceptive but can take one year to leave the system.

So what am I going to do?

I’m going to wait until my other half is home (currently at work) and see what he suggests after all trying for a baby isn’t a decision for one person to make.

Thanks for reading.

Comments and advice more than welcome.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. newlymrsbrooks
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 04:53:27

    I also have an O- blood type and am a regular donor. When I was trying to conceive I decided it was best to just stop giving blood to err on the side of caution. I also did some research and like you didn’t really find a whole lot on what to do. So I just decided that’s what was best for me.

    Reply

    • coupletryingtogetpregnant
      Dec 08, 2012 @ 19:01:47

      Thanks for your comment. We are still unsure, due to bad weather we were unable to get to where I was meant to be donating. I don’t want to do anything that will decrease the chances of me getting pregnant, but at the same time don’t want to be selfish, especially as due to the Depo, there may be a chance that I can’t get pregnant straight away anyway…

      If you have any useful websites that you found could you let me know so that I can put a link to them on the blog.

      Thank you again for commenting, and if you can help or correct any other blog please feel free to let us know, especially anything else you tried to help you conceive.

      Reply

      • Alex
        Jun 17, 2014 @ 07:45:15

        Thanks for writing the blog I’m in exactly the same predicament as you were! Will be trying from this month which also coincides with being able to donate again! I try donate 5 times a year because I’m O-. I thought I better go today because I’m only ovulating in a few days time. But now I don’t know what to do! They should really say something about trying to conceive and donating blood and the implications so we can make informed decisions. Will ask my brother studying medicine but maybe there is no answer?

      • coupletryingtogetpregnant
        Jun 17, 2014 @ 18:55:40

        Hi,

        They say you shouldn’t give blood while you are pregnant, and so its kind of stemmed from there (I believe). However I gave blood in May and fell pregnant in September, so not sure how much affect it had? Please let us know what your brother says, as would be good to get a medical opinion.

    • coupletryingtogetpregnant
      Dec 08, 2012 @ 19:01:47

      Thanks for your comment. We are still unsure, due to bad weather we were unable to get to where I was meant to be donating. I don’t want to do anything that will decrease the chances of me getting pregnant, but at the same time don’t want to be selfish, especially as due to the Depo, there may be a chance that I can’t get pregnant straight away anyway…

      If you have any useful websites that you found could you let me know so that I can put a link to them on the blog.

      Thank you again for commenting, and if you can help or correct any other blog please feel free to let us know, especially anything else you tried to help you conceive.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

