One Born Every Minute

We like a lot of people love this show on channel 4. We are currently waiting for the new episode to start (series 4 episode 2) only 30 mins to go!!!!

Anyways this has got us thinking about how we will cope and what the labor to go, it even scares me to think about it even though I’m not currently pregnant.

So whats really freaking me out about the whole thing?

1) The pain! Which I think is the main thing a lot of people worry about, as being a first timer having no idea how bad it really is, slightly scary! I will be the first to admit it I’m a massive wimp especially when it comes to hitting your little toe/foot on the end of the bed/furniture.

2) Is a weird one, I do worry about how my other half will be on the day. As much as I love him, he can be really annoying and tries to wind me up. After watching an old One Born Every Min where the husband/boyfriend is eating fish and chips in the room the lady was currently in labour really made me think about this. My partner is diabetic so would need to eat, and as much as I could cope with fish and chips I’m unsure how I would if I was in pain… Lets hope he reads this and remembers to take some sandwiches instead of hot food.

3) Irritating midwife… watching OBEM, there are some midwives who are lovely and would be the perfect person to guides us through that stressful experience. However, there are some on the show, who irritate the hell out of me while watching, let alone if I was in the pain of labour!

4) What if something goes wrong…either during pregnancy or labour, as a friend baby recently died shortly after birth due to problems with brain activity.

5) Last week there was a couple that had to keep coming into hospital, just to be sent home again and again, this would be one of my worst fears, as would feel like everybody’s time would be wasted.

Some things we have already talked about as a couple, are things we really want to happen when I am in labour.

  •  we want to make sure that we are together, as I hate hospitals, so if he is sent home, I will be going with him. And hence if I need to stay overnight, so will he. To prove this point, I left hospital within an hour and half of having all 4 wisdom teeth out (under local anaesthetic)
  • As I am so bad with pain, I will be making use of as much pain relief as possible…Hello Epidural!!!
  • we plan on only us to being there at the birth, mainly as its something special for us as a couple, and also I’m sure my mother would wind me up and make the whole thing 20x worst.

As we aren’t talking to friends and family about getting pregnant and that, can’t really ask them if these are normal fears and concerns. And are they unreasonable demands???

Please feel free to let us know if other people have felt the same as we do, and the things that you have been put on your birthing plan.

Leave a Reply

