Avoiding Depression! The Horrible Cycle

I am in quite a miserable mood, as have just started my period again. Which obviously means I am once again not pregnant, for me it is no surprise, as I have been getting my usual pre-menstural symptoms for the past week. However, I must say that a small part of me is disappointed. Granted this marks the year point, at which depo provera injection runs out. Therefore our attempts to get pregnant so get a boost from now on.

As we have seen from people on Twitter and other websites, the psychological effect that not getting pregnant month after month is massive. It was summed up well by Jennifer Lopez’s character in the What to expect when your expecting! She felt like she was a failure as a woman, not being able to conceive. This feeling must cause depression and increase the stress surrounding the whole process of trying to get pregnant. Which as we have seen in other posts stress is a common cause in decreasing both male and females fertility.

I feel slight disappointment, and we haven’t realistically been trying completely as the depo has only just left my system. So I can only imagine how people cope, month after month. It seems that communication and support from others in the same position is the way to cope, as there are many groups for people from all over the world in their attempts to get pregnant.

Obviously I hope that we don’t get to that point, but if people currently in this unfortunate situation could share their coping strategies it would be greatly appreciated, by not only me, but also our other readers.

Thanks for reading and as always comments welcome!

Leave a Reply

