Monitoring cycles

Unless you are very lucky, getting pregnant needs a certain amount of planning. In that you need to have sex on or in the 3 days leading up to your ovulation. Ovulation is meant to occur approximately 10-16 days before the start of your next period, however this varies from person to person. So how can you know when you are going to ovulate?

Well we had been relying on a free app, called My Days, something that we reviewed in a previous blog (My Days App). My partner has always been a little sceptical of it, as he says, how can a computer program know all these crucial information, when given minimal information about me. I however, have been more believing of it until recently, as it has always said that I will start a day earlier than I actually do, and I assumed that it would see this pattern and change it, which it never did. This month it was 4 days out, which as the last blog suggested, caused us to think that I might be pregnant. When actually upon looking at the diary I have been starting consistently around the 15th or 16th of each month, so was if fact perfectly on time. I have now started a diary to record when I start and finish my period. I have also purchased some pregnancy and ovulation test strips, to allow me to know for sure both when I ovulate, and should I be late in the future whether I am pregnant or not. These I will record on the calendar section of this blog. So basically my own version of My Days, but that doesn’t guess when I will start and when I ovulate. Only I won’t put on when we have been intimate, as though I love all of our readers, we aren’t really that close!

So what ways are there of monitoring cycles???

My Days App

This app on further examination, can be changed so that you have longer or shorter cycles, and can be customised much more if you want to, although this takes time and patience.

My days app

Here is a screenshot from the apps page: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.chris.mydays

There are other apps available, however, My Days, has the highest rating so I can only imagine that the rest are even more difficult to use.

The other alternative is the old paper and pen method, of using a method to test when you are ovulating, as discussed in my ovulation test page, then record the times you are at high ovulation and when you are on your period. So how do you know when to test and what do you record?

One method is using the Billings Ovulation Method: http://www.thebillingsovulationmethod.org/. This requires you to monitor the feel of the secretions in your vulva. By monitoring these, over several months, you can work out your cycles, especially by feel.

However, this seems like a lot of effort and neither of us can get our heads round it. So we are going to use the test strips on 3 consecutive days mid way between my periods (which are currently between 25 and 26 day gaps or a 30 to 31 day cycle). I will start on day 10-12 of cycle. Obviously if I am not ovulating on these days, I will try for the next 3 days, to cover the 6 day average quoted by the majority of websites online. We will obviously do further blogs on the findings. However, as any mathematicians may have noted from our calendar, my cycles while similar are currently increasing length, so are my periods back to normal? Am I ovulating at all? Hopefully this new method of recording and the test strips that I have ordered will allow us to find out the answers and help us to get pregnant.

Please feel free to comment if you have any advice, are using a method of working out ovulation, that you find useful, or anything else about the subject covered in this blog.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

